Aster + Bay Review

IMG_2151

First of all, I have to say how much I love that this company allows you to purchase small sample sizes of their products to try out! I purchased the  macadamia + mandarin cleansing oil and the hydrating facial serum and have to say I loved them both and  plan on purchasing the full size products!

I have always been leery about trying a cleansing oil but since I was able to purchase a sample size for $4 I thought I would give it a go! Turns out I am actually loving this cleansing oil! I love that it makes my face feel so soft after using it and I really feel like it gets my face clean too. The directions state to massage onto your skin , hold a hot washcloth to your face  and then wipe off. I find this to be a really soothing way to end my day… the hot washcloth on my face gives me a spa-like moment to actually enjoy washing my face! This cleansing oil is made of 100 percent  plant & essential oils… I have listed the ingredients from their website below.

+ Organic Macadamia Nut Oil: High in palmitoleic acid, this oil has wonderful anti-aging properties. It’s light, non-greasy texture makes it an ideal cleansing oil for all skin types.

+ Hazelnut Oil: Considered to be an astringent oil, hazelnut oil is great for detoxifying the skin and pores. Eliminates blackheads and imparts a healthy glow.

+ Organic Sesame Oil: The Ayurvedic secret to radiant skin, sesame oil is packed with vitamin E. It has the ability to pull out dirt and toxins that have accumulated in the pores, while healing many skin problems such as acne and eczema.

+ Organic Castor Oil: A beauty and health oil that has been used for thousands of years by many cultures. Castor oil is anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial and anti-viral. It soothes and heals the skin from many conditions, leaving soft, moisturized skin behind.

+ Essential Oil Blend: Three toning and purifying citrus essential oils help the detoxifying action of the cleanser, while imparting an uplifting and invigorating scent.

Next, I tried the hydrate facial serum. Again I was leery with putting an oil on my face as my skin can sometimes be on the oily side and prone to breakouts, but I found this to cause me no issues. The serum has a silky texture and does a really nice job at hydrating, the sample of this one was only $3 but came in a small tube which leaked during shipping so I was pretty bummed about that. I did see on their website that the full size bottles come with a dropper in a glass bottle which I like . Here is the full ingredient list for this serum.

Ingredients: Oils of: Camellia*, Rosehip Seed*, Avocado*, Evening Primrose*, Sea Buckthorn*, Buriti Fruit; Essential oils of: Rose*, Rosemary*, Helichrysum, Cistus, Sandalwood*; Extracts of: Jasmine*, Rosehip Seed*; Vitamin E (non-gmo). *organic

Overall, I loved both products and they even sent a notecard with a handwritten note which was a nice personal touch!  I love that this is a small husband and wife business – They really have a great message, so be sure to check out their story on their website. I am eager to purchase more of their products , they even have a grooming oil for men!  Check them out at http://www.asterandbay.com/

Leave a Reply

